Oh, The Places You've Gone!

The marvelous misadventures of wee little sock critters in a great big world

Hi there! January 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Hilary Emerson Lay @ 9:00 pm

Hi there!

My name is Hilary.  I am an artist.  I love writing letters, doing funky things to my hair, coming up with increasingly creative excuses for not going to the gym, embarking on road trips, and putting hot sauce on almost everything that I eat.  And, of course, I love making art.

But most of all, I like making people smile.  For years now, I’ve given away many, many sock critters to friends as well as virtual strangers, especially people who are sad or sick or going through a hard time.  Because you can’t *not* feel a little better when you have a sock critter in your life.

I got the idea for this project while reading Lewis Hyde’s The Gift, which dissects the idea that the oldest meaning of the word ‘gift’ was something which you were given, that you hung on to and appreciated for a while, and that you then passed along to someone else.  Literally, a gift that kept giving.  This concept gave me the idea to loose a gaggle of my sock critters out into the world and see what happens.  This blog will hopefully chronicle their journeys as they travel to new places, meet new people, and have new adventures.

So without further ado, I am letting them loose on the world.  Safe travels, my dear friends!

Love,

Hilary

 

5 Responses to “Hi there!”

  1. Good travels little guy. I hope you’ll meet some terrific people and have a wonderful adventure. Please write home often if you can and don’t forget to brush your teeth…that is very important. Love, your friend M

    PS You are not missing out on those lima beans. Lima beans are Satan’s vegetable. Blech!

  2. ouija board Says:

    The Atomic Cafe was quite interesting

  3. Rebecca Says:

    Hilary – What a fantastic idea! Wishing you and the critters luck and tons of fun on this endeavor!!

    – Rebecca Borowski

    Btw: Have you considered volunteer/foster families?? I want to play! 🙂

    • Hilary Emerson Lay Says:

      Thanks, Rebecca! Maybe one of my critters will randomly find its way into your life? 🙂 I have gotten a bunch of offers from people to start my critters off on their adventures….but I just can’t keep up! I’m going to see how these first six do and then I’ll think about releasing more into the wild. Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

