Oh, The Places You've Gone!

The marvelous misadventures of wee little sock critters in a great big world

Today’s the day! January 18, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Hilary Emerson Lay @ 10:59 pm

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At approximately 10:07 a.m. today, I brought the little guy into the Atomic Cafe in Beverly and propped him up against the napkin dispenser in the last booth.  I told the barista what the deal was (that is, if someone tries to bring him to the counter, he’s supposed to tell them to read the note in his backpack), and mentioned that if the critter went unclaimed, perhaps he could take him home and start the project.  Although, seriously, who wouldn’t want to take this handsome little fellow home with them?!

I took some last pictures of my friend on the table, patted his little head goodbye, and left.

I haven’t received an email about him being found yet, but one of my boyfriend’s former students contacted me to say that she’d love to bring a critter with her to Germany in March, leaving him somewhere random and giving the project international legs.  Now we’ll have two sock critters to follow!  I will have to make sure the second one at least speaks passing German…..

Stay tuned.  I wait with bated breath for contact.

 

3 Responses to “Today’s the day!”

  1. jacey boggs Says:

    Hilary, I’m going to Australia again next year, he or she wouldn’t even have to learn another language, just a sassy little lilt and how to shorten almost everything and add a “ie” at the end.

    I’m sure you’ll get a note soon!

  2. Hilary Emerson Lay Says:

    @Jacey: YES! I will give you one to take down under with you!


Leave a Reply

