Oh, The Places You've Gone!

The marvelous misadventures of wee little sock critters in a great big world

TWO critters launched today! January 27, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Hilary Emerson Lay @ 12:18 am

So clearly my first, naive attempt at setting a sock critter free in the world has flopped.  He was either lost, kidnapped, or he ran off with one of the stray socks at the laundromat one block over.  Rather than get upset about the immediate letdown (*ok, I got a little upset, but I’m over it) it gave me a chance to rethink the project.  Clearly, leaving critters for random strangers to take is a real gamble.  So why not start with friends?

So I chose five of my quirkiest, funniest, artsy-est friends, and I will be sending them each a sock critter, complete with backpack and letter.  These five friends will name their little charges, send me stories and pictures, and then pass them along to their friends….who will pass them along to their friends, and so on.  THIS should get some momentum going!

Today I carefully packaged two critters into two little boxes, and sent one to my friend Lacy in Chicago and one to my friend Louise in Dorset, England.

Lacy was my college roommate.  She is one of the funniest, smartest and most beautiful people I know.  She is a professional theater-everything: she acts, she does voice-overs, she directs, she does commercials, she climbs into holes in the centers of round tables covered in giant renaissance dresses and walks around serving dessert plates off of her skirts.  The woman’s done more weird and wonderful stuff than I can even wrap my mind around.  And get this: she also makes puppets for her shows.  What are the chances that two college roommates would both grow up to make puppets?!  Take that, Al Gore and Tommy Lee Jones!  (<—-Just googled “famous college roommates”).  Please take a moment to check out Lacy’s current project, The Story Story, an original, wordless play that brings together visual artists and musicians.  Her creativity knows no bounds.

Lacy will be receiving the handsome, solid-blue critter with three buttons down his front and a look of perpetual confusion.  The only thing I know about him is that he reaaaally, really loves dogs.  I did not inform him that Lacy has a cat.

Louise is the genius behind Odd Sox.  Yes, that’s right: she also makes critters out of socks.  We found each other on Facebook about a week ago and have fallen bum-over-noggin for each other (*she’s British; I’m trying to work in some of her native tongue here).  The most amazing thing to me is that we both use socks and stuffing to make wonky little sock guys, and yet our outcomes could not be more different.  Proving, I suppose, that socks are possibly the most versatile art medium out there.  You should become a fan of Odd Sox on Facebook.  She does giveaways!  And she’s hysterical!

Louise will be receiving the spotted, lint-covered critter whose only claim to fame (thus far) is that he knows how to say “I LOVE YOU!” in 27 different languages.  His backpack straps are even made out of ribbon that says I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU all over it.  He seems a bit wild, which is why I decided to send him to someone with sock-critter-wrangling experience.  Louise, I wish you luck.  I hope he doesn’t I-LOVE-YOU to death.  I also hope you can properly pass him along without him coming back to boil bunnies in your kitchen.

Within the next few days, I will be sending out three more critters to three more friends (look for a new blog post!).  Please stay tuned for updates.  And thank you all, truly, for following this!

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

18 Responses to “TWO critters launched today!”

  1. Lynn Whitten Bustard Says:

    I’m so sorry to discover that your successful launch of a wandering sock critter was a wash. BUT this is a delightful alternative and sure to be successful! What a delight it will be for a friend to find a squashy button-eyed creation in their ‘post’! I look forward to reading about your critters’ adventures Hilary! -Lynn

  2. Abby Miner Says:

    socks ARE the most versatile art medium!
    good luck socks!

    xoxo
    abby, fellow sock thing-er, mischief maker, & earth worm collector

    • Hilary Emerson Lay Says:

      Abby, my love, your description of yourself makes YOU sound like a sock critter! Which I suppose you kind of are. 🙂

  3. mitabee Says:

    Looking forward to meeting mine!

  4. Paula Miner Says:

    I sure hope there’s no age discrimination in this little enterprise…

    • Hilary Emerson Lay Says:

      Auntie P: I thought I DID reply to this, but apparently it didn’t stick. No age discrimination here! Are you just accusing me of this so that I get guilted into sending you one? To tip the scale towards the older end of the spectrum? 😛

      KIDDING!

  5. jacey boggs Says:

    awesome! Good solid plan. I once tried to do something similar to your first paln when I was woodworking — leaving pieces on the street for strangers. I’d sit in my car and take a picture of the person who took the item (mostly doorstops carved and painted into little silly characters) and then wait for them to send me a note or photo of where they put the little guy. Never worked. Never heard from anyone but have several pictures of people I now loathe. Lol. I’m wishing these little Socks the best of luck in the big world. Word up.

  6. Hilary Emerson Lay Says:

    Hey Jacey! I love that you just admitted to publicly stalking strangers with a telephoto lens. Do you have all of their headshots up on a dartboard somewhere?
    I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who has given up on the truly “public” part of a public art project. Thanks for your enthusiasm!!

  7. Andy Says:

    I sort of like the idea of literally “launching” critters. Like with a catapult or something. Is that something I should talk about with a professional?

  8. […] eagerly anticipate being part of a new long distance art project, Hilary Emerson Lay has launched a Sock Critter Adventure that I have been chosen to be part of.  Read more about […]

  9. Liz Says:

    such a great idea….your critters are adorable. It sounds like a Flat Stanley project I did once…..:)

  10. Meep.
    I’m just gonna sit by the front door and wait for the postman.
    And I shan’t do anything else until my spotty little dude gets here.
    Apart from plan our adventures together.
    And maybe drink some tea.
    And perhaps have the occasional slice of cake.
    And maybe shower now and then.
    And perhaps do a spot of sewing to amuse me while the time passes.
    And watch a spot of tv.
    But apart from that, I’m not gonna do anything.
    I’m just gonna wait…..

  11. LizzieMade Says:

    Ah-ha! I went away for a week, and when I came back, all this had happened! This is fabulously fabulous!
    I am sorry that the first little guy is still missing – I just hope he found a happy home all the same.
    This is a great idea and I’m excited to see it start from the beginning (also excited that Louise is included!!).
    Hooray!


Leave a Reply

