Oh, The Places You've Gone!

The marvelous misadventures of wee little sock critters in a great big world

And another one mailed off today…. January 28, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Hilary Emerson Lay @ 2:05 am

Another one is off!  This crazy little fellow is en route to the welcoming arms of Kristin, who lives on Cape Cod. (Kristin: He’s due to arrive Monday!).

Kristin was one of my sister’s best friends growing up, and is now one of my close friends, too.  I have known her a long time.   She is an artist; she’s playful and adventurous; she has a smelly coon hound named Ella (who, according to my dad, has “nice ticking”); she collects arrowheads; she’s mind-bogglingly funny; she’s so-bad-she’s-good at Pictionary; she’s always smiling.  And she has the most infectious laugh I’ve ever heard.  She might have my favorite laugh ever.  You can’t not be laughing when you’re hanging out with her.  If she doesn’t make you crack up laughing, you have no soul.

I chose a very special critter for her.  His eyes are a little crazy (he constantly looks like he’s about to pull a prank); he has a tongue (*NOT a cigarette, as my coworker thought); he likes shiny objects (*warning, Kristin: he MAY be a klepto) and he comes with a special backpack made from mustache material.  Yes: mustache material.  Because like both Kristin and the critter, mustache material is absurd.

Today I sent her a picture of her soon-to-be-houseguest and her response was this: “OHMYGOD.  Does he have a tongue?!  I’m so excited.  I’ve already started compiling a list of adventures.  There aren’t enough hours in the day for all of the things I want to do!”

There’s a chance that this critter may have so much fun playing around with Kristin, and vice-versa, that they won’t want to part ways.  Whatever; Kristin’s adventures will be so funny and ridiculous, she could probably carry her own portion of this blog without ever passing him along to anyone.

Have fun, you two!

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 Responses to “And another one mailed off today….”

  1. Dan Look Says:

    I can’t wait for updates!!!!!! I hope their flights are going well!


Leave a Reply

